Confirmed Invited Speakers

The list of confirmed invited speakers

Mendel Lecture

Dr Serena Nik-Zainal

Dr Serena Nik-Zainal was born and raised in Malaysia, she attended school at Bukit Bintang Girls School in Kuala Lumpur before being awarded the prestigious PETRONAS scholarship in 1993, obtaining a first class degree in Physiology at the University of Cambridge before completing her medical degree in 2000. She undertook a PhD at the Wellcome Sanger Institute (WSI) in 2009 and was awarded a Wellcome Trust Intermediate Clinical fellowship in 2013. In 2017, she was awarded a CRUK Advanced Clinician Scientist Fellowship. Her work has been published in many high impact journals such as Nature (3 papers as the first author), Nature Genetics, Nature Communication, Nature Medicine, Nature Reviews, Nature Cell Biology and Cell. In addition, she was awarded the Dr Josef Steiner Cancer Research Prize 2019. The award, commonly dubbed the “Nobel Prize in cancer research”, was presented to her for her work on cancer genome interpretation. Her research work allows for mutations in cancer tumours to be analysed using new bio-informatic methods, which in turn enables new approaches to targeted therapies.

Plenary Speakers

Prof. Dr. Sok Ching Cheong, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Prof. Dato’ Dr. Mohd Tajuddin Abdullah, Academy of Science Malaysia, Malaysia

Prof. Datin Dr. Norlinah Ibrahim, The National University of Malaysia, Malaysia

Prof. Dr. Wendy Harwood- confirm, The John Innes Centre, United Kingdom

Prof. Dr. Wang Linfa, DUKE-NUS Medical School, Singapore

Dr. Kevin Ng Kit Siong, Forest Research Institute Malaysia, Malaysia

Dr. Brande Wulff, The John Innes Centre, United Kingdom

Invited Speakers

Prof. Datuk Awang Bulgiba, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Noorazmi Shahruddin, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Norlelawati A. Talib, International Islamic University Malaysia, Malaysia

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Potjamarn Suraninpong, Walailak University, Thailand

Dr. Zulkifli Yaakob, Malaysia Palm Oil Board, Malaysia

Dr. Rozainanee binti Mohd Zain, Institute for Medical Research, Malaysia

Dr. Hajar Fauzan Ahmad, Universiti Malaysia Pahang, Malaysia

Dr. Abdelazeem Elhabyan, Arizona State University, United States

Mr. Mohd Noor Mat Isa, Malaysia Genome Institute, Malaysia

Mr. Mohd Hafiz bin Abdul Rahman, Institut Biodiversiti Veterinar Kebangsaan, Malaysia